Skip All Navigation

Assurance 3 - Qualified Providers

Agencies and workers providing HCBS services are qualified.

A state must assure that only those agencies and individuals meeting the state’s qualification requirements provide services to HCBS waiver participants.

What are the requirements of this HCBS waiver assurance?

A state must establish qualification requirements for individuals and agencies that provide each type of service offered under the HCBS waiver. Specific qualifications may differ from state to state; general requirements are described below.

  • A state must verify that provider agencies and the workers they employ, if applicable, meet the state’s licensure and certification standards initially and on an ongoing basis. The specific licensing or certification standards may vary from state to state. (click here for more information about licensure and certification requirements)

  • A state must monitor non-licensed and non-certified providers. State licensure or certification standards may not apply to all types of provider agencies and workers. A state may have other requirements or standards for non-licensed and non-certified providers. These minimum standards may include background checks, maintenance of an abuse registry, and/or requirements related to basic competencies such as language or age. (click here for more information about monitoring non-licensed and non-certified providers)

  • A state must have policies and procedures related to provider training and must monitor that the policies are implemented. This may include on-going training requirements in certain competencies (e.g. medication administration, personal care) and/or required hours of training.
< Back      Next >